I’ll Be With You…

Nobody’s perfect — I get so tired of hearing that, especially in Christian circles. God’s Word commands us to be perfect — which is not the kind of perfection we normally expect. Biblically speaking, perfection is described as mature, whole, healthy, and complete. Whew, that kinda lets us off the hook, doesn’t it? I can be mature and healthy and still have flaws. Yes, even the strong have a dark side. Just like Superman, we all have our own Kryptonite.

WARNING!! PERSONAL DISCLOSURE!! My kryptonite is disappointment. I can take something and run with it, thinking it is God’s will and if doesn’t work out, BAM! I am blindsided by the negative side of that ‘good’ idea. I’m feeling crushed, depressed, and rejected. It seemed like a ‘good’ idea at the time, but was it a ‘God’ idea?

There are times when it is God’s will and the situation still seems hopeless. I wonder how Moses felt when he approached Pharaoh all those times, only to be refused yet again. Imagine the fortitude he must have had. Abraham waited twenty five years to receive his promise. I am tempted to say “I couldn’t do that, I’m not on that level yet”. Yet, the Father reminds me of my own life situations where I have endured and the promise came.

Where am I going with this? I received a letter in the mail recently that sent me into a pity party. I would have prayed but I didn’t even know where to start. All I could do is flip channels on the tv and stare off in space. Before the end of the day, my dd#2 walked in my room and unknowingly brought me out of my funky attitude. I didn’t realize it then, but that was God’s intervention. Funny how He still cares for us even when we stop speaking to Him.

Fast forward to today…had an inbox conversation with a former co-worker on Facebook. She was filling me in on what was going on with people we knew. She mentioned a co-worker had died. I did not remember this woman, so I did an obit search–couldn’t find her name, but while I was looking I started thinking, ‘Wow look at all these people who died in the past six months, some of them younger than me. I wonder how many died with dreams and goals yet unfulfilled?’

Then it hit me ‘Why am I so disappointed about one red light when there are so many green lights in my life? I’m in a position to pursue my purpose and gifts and I’m focused on one shut door. I have so many untapped wells of knowledge and skills in me. If I allow this doubt to remain, it will block the flow of my journey. When my eyes opened to this, I felt the presence of the Lord on me. I began to feel calm, more confident, affirmed. This what perfection is about–being complete in Him.

Hopefully, this will encourage someone along their journey.

“Have no fear, for I am with you; do not be looking about in trouble, for I am your God; I will give you strength, yes, I will be your helper; yes, my true right hand will be your support” Isaiah 41:10 BBE

Leave a Reply

